You may assume that your arrest for drinking and driving is a DUI, but in the state of New Jersey, it is considered a DWI. Learn about DWI and DUI laws in NJ from an expert that can help you achieve great results.
New Jersey DWI cases are unique, since there is no pre-trial administrative driver's license suspension, as there is in many other states. The only driver's license consequences (fines) are imposed by the court. Keep in mind that in N.J. a third DUI conviction carries a $1,000. fine and a minimum sentence of 180 days in jail with suspension of your drivers license for ten years.
Some states have lowered the BAC level defining intoxication to .08, and many states have “zero tolerance” laws that make it illegal for people under 21 to operate a vehicle with any amount of alcohol in their blood.
A tort is an injury against a person or property. A DUI charge involving an accident with injuries can carry a severe jail sentence and fines.
(Source: Yahoo Answers)
When you are apprehended due to a DWI for the first time, there are there are multiple things to figure out. A DWI law firm can examine your situation and give you help and advice on what penalties you could be facing with your first DWI offense.
In every state, it is against the law to be managing a vehicle having a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08 percent or higher. If you're charged with a first DUI, you could experience suspension of your license, probation, jail time, or alcohol counseling depending on your state's DUI law.
Hardly a Slap on the Wrist
Just take a look at these New Jersey first DUI offense laws as illustrations of the type of penalties that may be in store upon simply being charged with a first DUI.
In some states, your 1st DUI carries an automatic suspension of your driver's license. In NJ, a first DUI offense may include a possible jail sentence of up to a year, fines between $600 and $1200, and a license suspension of 90 days.
In contrast, California's sentencing for a first DUI also includes the same three penalties. But, if you are convicted of a first DUI offense, you will be demanded to serve a jail sentence of at least 96 hours, pay up to $390 in fines and have your driver's license suspended for six months.
First DWI Penalties May Depend on Your Blood Alcohol Content
Did you know that In New Jersey, your BAC determines the extent of your penalties for your first DWI? If you're charged with your first DWI, you should not go into your case with the perspective that you won't face severe penalties if convicted because you are a first-time convict.
As you can see, the punishments for a first DUI vary throughout all 50 states and can have quite significant ramifications on your life; thus further reinforcing the need to get in touch with local DUI attorneys.
According to New Jersey DUI law, if you have a BAC between.08 and.1 percent, you may serve jail time of 30 days, have a fine of up to $400 and even have your driver's license suspended for three months. If your BAC is over .1 percent, your fines can be increased, and your license could be suspended for seven months to a year for your first DUI.
I want to ensure that your rights are fully protected. Many people that have been arrested need to seek the help of lawyers
If You Don't Know The Difference Between DUI and DWI in New Jersey, You Need To Schedule A Free Consult Today!
You already understand that DUI laws in NJ are a serious matter. Learn what steps you need to take next, and how you can achieve the best possible outcome for your upcoming DWI trial or court appearance. Call now for a free DWI consultation.