DUI refers to driving under the influence. The most impairing substance is alcohol. Also, DWI refers to Driving while Impaired or driving while intoxicated. This is the crime you will face if arrested in the state of New Jersey. Impairment may be caused by alcohol, drugs or chemical compounds
Driving with a blood alcohol level over the state's maximum permissible blood alcohol limit is called drunk driving. In October 2000, Congress passed a law requiring all states to adopt a level of 0.08 percent% by 2004. Apart from the general 0.08% to 0.10% limits. Some states have zero tolerance level for young drivers. You may be convicted of DUI/DWI if there are signs that drugs or a combination of drugs and alcohol impair movement. It does not matter if the drug is legal or illegal.
If your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is over 0.10%, based on a blood test or a breath test and you have operated or intended to operate your vehicle, you have violated DWI Law of New Jersey. The popular sentiment is that one of the most severe charges one can face in a New Jersey municipal court is the Driving under Influence (DUI) charge.
If convicted, the DUI will render the defendant financially, socially, and psychologically impoverished and impaired. The DUI Law stipulates the following penalties on the defendant if convicted according to the number of times the offense has been committed. Depending on whether the offense is the first of third, penalties increase significantly. First-time offenders face penalties up to $500 with insurance surcharges of $3000. There is also a loss of license for up to 1 year, a drug and alcohol mandatory counseling program and possible jail time of up to 30 days. If the offense is a second or third, the financial penalties increase, as does the period of license suspension and time spent in jail
DUI conviction in New Jersey can seriously alter your life making you poorer, unable to move about without a license, forcibly engage in community service and serve a jail sentence.